BLOG

The major platforms for publishing your videos online

15 September 2017

Publishing your videos online

While we have just learned in early September the sharp drop in visits to the Dailymotion platform, other platforms are growing rapidly. Videos are becoming a mode of expression in their own right and are being used more and more. Online video publishing sites abound and social networks are getting up to date to offer more adapted solutions. You are probably wondering which platform is best suited for your videos, so let’s go back to the main online publishing platforms.

Whether it’s for your professional or personal videos, the choice will depend on a number of criteria: are you willing to pay to publish your video? Do you want to reach a maximum number of people or a more targeted category of people? Is this video part of your SEO strategy? If you would like more information on this topic, please read our article dedicated to SEO.

Major video publishing platforms

Let’s start with the giant YouTube and its benefits. This platform is totally free and has no time limit on the videos posted. But the major advantage of this platform lies in the number of users that YouTube attracts. It is true that with 4 million videos watched per day, you will have a wide distribution. Especially since YouTube videos appear in Google searches. Publishing your videos on YouTube is therefore a way to improve your natural referencing. In addition, YouTube is the platform par excellence for video clips of your music.
But this platform has some limitations, especially in terms of the abundance of videos. Yours could easily be drowned in the middle of all the others, if you don’t put a budget for broadcasting to promote it. The other negative point lies in the fact that the site hosts many ads, and some of them may appear while viewing your videos.

Dailymotion remains topical despite the rumors of closure. This platform remains a major competitor to YouTube. Easier to use for viewing and publishing videos than YouTube, Dailymotion seduces by its visibility because you’ll have less competition: your video will be able to stand out better.

But this site remains less attractive and the quality of the videos is less good, because the high-definition mode is only accessible with a premium account.

The Vimeo platform has a positioning focused on creative and artistic videos but is also experiencing a boom in corporate videos. Many filmmakers do not hesitate to use this site because the quality is paramount. It is the haunt of many professionals and Vimeo’s restricted community makes it possible to reach a particular target. Moreover, the viewing of your videos will not be disturbed by advertisements. Nevertheless, this platform prohibits the publication of videos for commercial purposes. Publishing capacity is also limited, unless you have paid membership.

Finally, for your marketing oriented videos, the Wistia platform will meet your expectations. It offers the possibility to fully customize your videos or video clips in their appearance, but also concerning sharing on social networks. You will be able to create a “call to action” in order to facilitate the process of contacting you thanks to the use of direct links at the end of the video for example. But that’s not all, the platform also offers to measure the distribution and the transformation rate. These services are of course paid for, and it remains quite expensive.

Choosing your publishing platform according to your expectations

The list is not exhaustive, other platforms are also online, including specialized platforms. For example, if you want to publish a video of board sports, the Zapiks site will be perfectly suited. Chefclub is a site for your online cooking videos. It is also necessary to relay on social networks the videos you publish on these sites to maximize your distribution.

The platforms are to be chosen according to different criteria, but you have to take into account the fact that the smaller ones are subject to competition from the big groups. The Vine site, in particular, was quickly ousted because of intense controversy and overwhelming competition, despite an innovative short video format. Note also that when you have an account on YouTube or Vimeo, you can make quite basic editing for your post-production: music, transitions, color retouching and even titles on Vimeo. This platform also offers this service on its application, and you can edit directly after the video is shot on your smartphone.

Videos are now a must-have, and new practices are developing, such as motion design or drone videos.

You are a company or an individual and you are looking to make a video for your website or to broadcast it on online platforms? Don’t hesitate to contact us: our professional videographers will be delighted to put their skills at the service of your project.

BLOG

Les grandes plateformes pour la publication de vos vidéos en ligne

15 septembre 2017

Les grandes plateformes pour la publication de vos vidéos en ligne

Alors que l’on vient d’apprendre début septembre la forte baisse des visites sur la plateforme Dailymotion, d’autres plateformes sont quant à elles en pleine expansion. Les vidéos deviennent un mode d’expression à part entière et sont de plus en plus utilisées. Les sites de publication de vidéos en ligne abondent et les réseaux sociaux se mettent à la page afin de proposer des solutions plus adaptées. Vous vous demandez sûrement quelle plateforme est la plus adaptée pour vos vidéos, revenons alors sur les principales plateformes de publication en ligne.

Que ce soit pour vos vidéos professionnelles ou personnelles, le choix dépendra d’un certain nombre de critères : êtes-vous prêts à payer pour publier votre vidéo? Souhaitez-vous toucher un maximum de personnes ou une catégorie de personnes plus ciblée? Cette vidéo fait-elle partie de votre stratégie de référencement? Si vous souhaitez plus d’informations sur cette thématique, n’hésitez pas à consulter notre article dédié au SEO.

Les plateformes majeures de publication de vidéos

Commençons par le géant YouTube et ses avantages. Cette plateforme est totalement gratuite et ne met pas de limite de durée sur les vidéos postées. Mais l’avantage majeur de cette plateforme réside dans le nombre d’utilisateurs qu’attire YouTube. Il est vrai qu’avec 4 millions de vidéos regardées par jour, vous aurez une diffusion large. D’autant plus que les vidéos YouTube apparaissent dans les recherches Google. Publier vos vidéos sur YouTube est donc un moyen d’améliorer votre référencement naturel. De plus, YouTube est la plateforme par excellence pour les clips vidéos de vos musiques.
Mais cette plateforme a tout de même quelques limites, notamment en terme d’abondance des vidéos. La vôtre risque d’être facilement noyée au milieu de toutes les autres, si vous ne mettez pas un budget de diffusion pour la promouvoir. L’autre point négatif réside dans le fait que le site abrite de nombreuses publicités, et certaines peuvent apparaitre lors du visionnage de vos vidéos.

Dailymotion reste d’actualité malgré les rumeurs de fermeture. Cette plateforme reste un concurrent majeur de YouTube. Plus simple d’utilisation pour le visionnage et la publication des vidéos que ce dernier, Dailymotion séduit encore par sa visibilité car vous aurez moins de concurrence: votre vidéo pourra mieux se démarquer.

Mais ce site reste moins attractif et la qualité des vidéos est moins bonne, car le mode haute définition n’est accessible qu’avec un compte premium.

La plateforme Vimeo possède un positionnement orienté sur des vidéos créatives et artistiques mais connaît également un essor des vidéos d’entreprises. De nombreux cinéastes n’hésitent pas à faire appel à ce site car la qualité prime. C’est le repaire de nombreux professionnels et la communauté restreinte de Vimeo permet de toucher une cible particulière. De plus, le visionnage de vos vidéos ne sera pas perturbé par les publicités. Néanmoins, cette plateforme interdit la publication de vidéos à visée commerciale. La capacité de publication est également limitée, sauf adhésion payante.

Enfin, pour vos vidéos orientées marketing, la plateforme Wistia comblera vos attentes. Elle propose de personnaliser totalement vos vidéos ou clip vidéo dans leur apparence, mais aussi concernant le partage sur les réseaux sociaux. Vous pourrez créer un «call to action» de manière à faciliter la démarche pour vous contacter grâce à l’utilisation de liens directs en fin de vidéo par exemple. Mais ce n’est pas tout, la plateforme propose aussi de mesurer la diffusion et le taux de transformation. Ces services sont bien sûr payants, et cela reste assez onéreux.

Choisir sa plateforme de publication en fonction de ses attentes

La liste n’est pas exhaustive, d’autres plateformes sont également en ligne, notamment des plateformes spécialisées. Par exemple, si vous souhaitez publier une vidéo de sports de glisse, le site Zapiks conviendra parfaitement. Chefclub est un site pour vos vidéos de cuisine en ligne. Il est nécessaire aussi de relayer sur les réseaux sociaux les vidéos que vous publiez sur ces sites pour maximiser vos diffusions.

Les plateformes sont donc à choisir selon différents critères, mais il faut bien prendre en compte le fait que les plus petites subissent la concurrence des grands groupes. Le site Vine, notamment, a vite été évincé à cause de polémiques intenses et de la concurrence écrasante, malgré un format de vidéos courtes innovant. A noter également que lorsque vous avez un compte sur YouTube ou Vimeo, il vous est possible de réaliser des montages assez basiques pour votre post-production: musique, transition, retouches colorimétriques et même titres sur Vimeo. Cette plateforme propose ce service également sur son application, et vous pouvez faire le montage directement après le tournage de la vidéo sur votre smartphone.

Les vidéos sont désormais un must-have, et des nouvelles pratiques se développent, comme le motion design ou encore les vidéos drone

Vous êtes une entreprise ou un particulier et vous cherchez à réaliser une vidéo pour votre site web ou pour la diffuser sur des plateformes en ligne? N’hésitez pas à nous contacter: nos vidéastes professionnels seront ravis de mettre leurs compétences au service de votre projet.